If you’re gathering with family or friends this summer and want to know when everyone arrives and gets home, Google Maps update has you covered. The new location sharing feature in the Google Maps app will alert you to the whereabouts of people who are already sharing their locations with you.
Google Maps’ new location sharing feature takes some of the guesswork out of asking when everyone will arrive by notifying you when a friend or family member checks in or leaves a place, as long as they already share their location with you. This can come in handy if you have a teen heading out of town or if you want to tell a friend that you’ve arrived at the meeting place.
We’ll explain how the new location sharing feature works, how to use it, and when it will be available.
How do you get alerts on Google Maps when friends arrive at or leave a location?
Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android device, select your profile icon and tap Share location. Choose the person you want to request location notifications from the list – note that they actually need to share their location with you. Next, select Add To add an address to get updates from your friend. You will then choose a specific location, as well as when to be notified (arrival or departure) and then click Memorizes.
The person you requested location notifications from will receive an alert that you added the location. As soon as that person leaves or arrives at the designated location, you will be notified. For example, if your friend arrives to meet you at a camp, you will be alerted and you can search for them.
The person will also receive several reminders to let them know that they share their location notifications, including push notification in the Maps app and email, along with recurring monthly emails.
Can I turn off this Maps feature if a friend asks for my arrival or departure time?
yes. If you get an alert that someone wants to be notified when you arrive or leave a location, you can choose to turn it off. Start by clicking on the notification on your phone’s lock screen. Next, turn off the switch for Allow recipients to add notifications. Faucet turn it off For confirmation.
You can also block someone from setting notifications completely.
Once you do that, the person will not be able to add notifications to know when you arrive or leave a particular location. Nor will they be notified that this capability is turned off.
When can I start using the new location sharing feature in Google Maps?
As of today, an update to the location sharing feature in Google Maps is rolling out for Android and iOS users. If you don’t see it right away, check to make sure you have the latest version of the app. It may also take up to two weeks before you see the new tool.
For more tips, here. Also, here To make trip planning easier.
#Google #Maps #feature #alerts #friends #family #home #safely #CNET